Advertising Banner

News     Industries Updates     Homeland Security

Raising of New Battalions in BSF and ITBP


Raising of New Battalions in BSF and ITBP. Out of the proposed 15 additional battalions (6 Bns of BSF and 9 Bns of ITBP), the Government has sanctioned raising of 6 additional battalions to BSF and the proposal for raising of 09 additional battalions in ITBP is under consideration.

Union Home Minister reviews FCRA and e-Visa schemes


Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh reviewed the progress of schemes being implemented by the Foreigners Division of MHA with a view to improve the efficiency and transparency of various services being provided to Indian and foreign nationals. Shri Rajnath Singh appreciated the fact that the e-Visa scheme, introduced in the year 2014 for Tourism category, has been extended to cover Business and Medical categories also and this facility is now available for nationals of 163 countries for entry into India through 25 International Airports and five Sea Ports in the country. Integrated Online Visa System under the Immigration, Visa, Foreigners Registration and Tracking (IVFRT) project has been operationalised in 163 out of 178 Indian Missions abroad.

Cabinet approves signing of a Memorandum of Cooperation between India and USA on Law Enforcement Training


The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has given its approval for signing of a Memorandum of Cooperation (MoC) between Federal Law Enforcement Training Centers (FLETC), USA and Bureau of Police Research & Development (BPR&D), India on Law Enforcement Training. This has paved the way for enhanced cooperation between the two countries in security related matters under the aegis of the India-US Homeland Security Dialogue.











Home Minister reviews the functioning of Internal Security Division and Narcotics Control Bureau


The Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh chaired a review meeting of Internal Security (II) Division of MHA. Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, Union Home Secretary Shri Rajiv Gauba, Special Secretary (IS), Smt. Rina Mitra, Director General of Narcotics Control Bureau (NCB), Shri Abhay and Senior Officers of MHA and NCB attended the meeting. The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has further liberalised the Arms Rules to boost “Make in India” manufacturing policy of the Government as also to promote employment generation in the field of manufacturing of arms and ammunition.

Setting up of National Security Commission


In pursuance of directions given by the Hon’ble Supreme Court for setting up a National Security Commission while adjudicating the PIL filed by Prakash Singh V/S Union of India and other concerning Police reforms, a Committee namely “Committee on National Security and Central Police Personnel Welfare (CNS & CPPW)” has been constituted for recommending the names of IPS officers to the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet for appointment at the level of Director General at the centre.

New border Posts for ITBP Force


The Government has approved the establishment of 54 temperature controlled Integrated Border Out Posts (BOPs) for Indo Tibetan Border Police (ITBP). The Government is committed to the development of border infrastructure to strengthen the operational capabilities of ITBP. It has accorded in-principal approval to the setting up of 47 new BOPs for ITBP.

National Security Policy


MHA has formulated detailed policy guidelines for assessment of proposals received from various ministries from the perspective of national security. Based on the inputs received from the agencies, MHA takes decision to grant or deny security clearance with reference to core national security i.e. unity, integrity and sovereignty of the country. MHA has not delegated the decision of granting/denying the security clearance that affect core parameters of national security i.e. unity, integrity and sovereignty of the country.

Shri Rajnath Singh chairs second meeting of Island Development Agency


The Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh chaired the second meeting of Island Development Agency (IDA). The Island Development Agency reviewed the concept development plans and detailed master plans for holistic development of 09 islands (four in A&N Islands i.e. Smith, Ross, Long, Avis) and (five in Lakshadweep i.e. Minicoy, Bangaram, Thinnakara, Cheriyam, Suheli). The project being steered by NITI Aayog aims at promoting and implementing development based on sustainable approach to building a thriving maritime economy of the project islands.